The Rain Can Stay, The Humidity Has Got To Go

20130701-191805.jpg

20130701-191823.jpg
This is what a sunny day looks like. We do occasionally have them here in Vermont. We had the wettest June on record, with 15″ inches of rain.

20130701-192131.jpg
Most mornings, we have a brief interlude of sun before the usual afternoon deluge. I’ve been working a ton, so the rain isn’t unbearable. I run most mornings, catching a little Vitamin D before work.
The trails are swamp like. Beautiful, but steamy and thick with mud and bugs. Aggie could care less about the messy trails. She simply wants to play. I could do well to take a lesson from her.
I’ve been struggling with hip/groin pain. It’s not a deal-breaker, but a serious nuisance. I’ve been run/ walking more than I want. So, I foam roll. Okay, I SHOULD foam roll. I do ice. That’s the easy part. But, wait, rest? Naaaah. I’m much nicer when I run.

20130701-192909.jpg
Since my last post, I’ve done a twelve miler, two races and two respectable weeks of mileage. I’m so pleased with with all of it. The highlight was a five mile trail race Saturday I ran in 1:01:37. I took a full 14 minutes off my time from last year! It was a slippery mud fest. I’d
say half of the 150 racers took a spill in the slop. But, oh-what-fun! AND I was fast! Well, not fast, but fast for me! My friend’s kiddo calls me Fastrid. I accept. Better than the embarrassing Gastrid. Yes? Ha!

20130701-195426.jpg

20130701-195547.jpg
I missed you guys. What’s new in your running world?
Astrid

10 thoughts on “The Rain Can Stay, The Humidity Has Got To Go

  1. What rain you all have had! And being a Virginia girl I can tell you about humidity…and why I moved to Vermont.
    I found that gentle yoga has all but made my groin/hip troubles disappear.
    Happy trails, S

  2. Oh my, what a load of fun! A really good read, and the pix are well chosen. Love the one of Aggie. Miss you so much. Love, L & S

  3. We had all that humidity down here in Texas the past few weeks. A cool front blew in with very little humidity, so hopefully it’s making its way north for you guys up in Vermont. Awesome job on your five mile muddy trail race!

Leave a Reply

