Not Much. You?

20130604-202340.jpg
As an email, this photo is probably larger than life. sorry.
This is me about 20ish miles in. Merrell provided FREE photos for the race. Thank you, Merrell. I will try to buy your stuff. Pretty awesome. AND it was as much fun as I look like I’m having. Truly.

I haven’t run once since Pineland. 10 days without running. Can I tell you how much I want to run? All last week I basked in the post-race glow of running my first ultra. Since then, I’ve continued with the usual routine of day-to-day. I’ve also gone for countless walks, lifted weights and paced around the house. But, it’s not running. In the meantime, I’m planning my next ultra. You know, the bug has truly set in.
So, in an effort to get healthy, I have to miss the first race of the Western NH Trail Running Series this Saturday. Argh. But, for those of you in the area, please go and support them. You can hang out with me in the photographer’s concession box, eating all the bagels and Nutella.
I went for x-rays last week. No breaks or fractures. The swelling is mostly gone. It’s mostly likely a tendon strain on the top of my foot. But, that’s what Dr. google says. I won’t know for sure until the end of June when I see an orthopedist. So, I’m going by feel. I’ll try running when I stop gimping. Whenever that is.
Having an injury reminds me I need to cross train. Whatever. I’ll let you know how that goes. Anybody wanna swim some boring laps with me? While you’re at it, can you run my dog? She’s going bonkers. Just like her mom.

20130604-210320.jpg

Thanks for (not) running with me,
Astrid

5 thoughts on “Not Much. You?

  1. Picture is brill – injury not so but then your body performed rather well on the day so a rest is in order. Take care. love life and keep smiling!!

Leave a Reply

