Waiting, Celebrating and Sushi

20130517-134841.jpg
Nine days ’til my first ultra!
I’ve been in taper mode this week, with some easy short runs. I even missed a few scheduled runs cause I was downright lazy. I’m trying, on the whole, to not worry too much about it. At this point, I don’t think there’s much I can do to improve my running. It’s gonna be what it’s gonna be. It’ll probably take me a wretched 8 hours to finish it, and I’m going to keep reminding myself that it’s supposed to be an adventure, not a race. Okay?
I did do a 7 miler today. But that’s the longest I’ll go til after the 50k. I’m told I should simply ‘shake my legs out next week’. Go easy. Okay. Shouldn’t be a problem, til I start having panic attacks from lack of exercise.
I want to play it cool, but my closest friends know better. All I’ve talked about lately is all things trail running. My co workers hate me. Even they’re ready for this damn race to be over.
Hubs is shaking his head. He has the patience of a saint. Sorry guys, I can be a little obsessive.

20130517-135341.jpg
Any ho, I did my first race of the season last weekend. Meh. It was great to see folks I hadn’t seen since last fall. I had been hoping to be faster. I’ll blame it on my distance training since it was only a 5k. And I pretty much loathe trying to go fast. As the gun went off, I visualized myself toeing the line at the fifty and my heart beat wildly! I guess it was good to get a short race in before hand to get reacquainted with that feeling.

20130517-135652.jpg
This is an amazing time to be tapering. I have lots to celebrate these 10 days. Aggie became our girl two years ago this past Monday. I’ve been lavishing her with treats and extra snuggling all week. She is one of the lights of my life. Also, I’m celebrating 5 years sober today, my 40th is next Wednesday (which means an eagerly awaited sushi dinner), and a long weekend in Maine. Hubby and I will be flitting about nightly in honor of each occasion. I wish I was rich enough to have hamachi and maguro every night this week.
I will probably over pack for Pineland, since I’m not 100% sure what to bring or what the weather will be like for the run.
Anybody have some last minute advice for me? I would really appreciate feedback, mantras, google links, food favorites, songs, whatever you got. What are you long run favorites?

20130517-140435.jpg
Finally, I leave you with what I believe is some awesome poison ivy. It is everywhere here. It is truly spring.

Thanks for running with me,
Astrid

8 thoughts on “Waiting, Celebrating and Sushi

  1. Congratulations on all accounts. I’ve found my 40s to be fantastic so I think you have a lot to look forward to. I can’t imagine running for 8 hrs! More power to ya. Gonna try to muster the courage for my first 1/2 this weekend without overdramatizing. Glad to know I’m not the only one obsessing over running or having major anxiety when I can’t. As a novice I have no good advice! But my plan for my race is to tune everyone else out, go into my head/breathing and run like I know I can. In short, to believe in myself. You can do it!!

  2. It’s going to be a fun weekend. As far as packing advice…I would share our list with you but it’s out of control at the moment..the three of us that are running are sharing a spreadsheet and the items on the list are ..disturbing at the moment. We’ll probably get serious later this weekend… You can’t over pack! Better to have stuff in the car than not have it at all. One thing I have heard and confirmed when a friend ran the ‘training’ run a few weeks ago was that the stations are plenty and well stocked. You shouldn’t have to carry much with you. You’re doing two laps so keep in mind you’ll be able to switch out socks/shoes/shirts whatever to help feel fresh again.

    Best of luck!!! You’ll do great.

    • Thanks! Hahaha. I wish I could take a peek at that spreadsheet. I guess I won’t sweat packing up the Subie with everything I own. I’ll save a tiny spot for my husband’s stuff. Maybe! Weather’s supposed to be 70 and cloudy..
      Hope the ankle is healing up well!

  3. First – happy everything you are celebrating – my 40s have been great! Secondly – “just do it”. You’ll be posting soon about how your ultra went and I want to hear all about it. Face it head on and ENJOY!!

    • Thank you, as always, for your kind words and support. I wish I could transport you to the US for the race. Maybe we’ll run together someday! I’d like to think so.

  4. May you have cool weather, the wind at your back, legs with boundless energy, and a wonderful cheeseburger (or your choice of fantastic meal) after your race. Can’t wait to read the recap!

    On a random note: Can you see my blog? In a fit of not-so-irrational anger on Sunday I turned everything to private and now I am wondering who can see it.

    • Thank you, dah-ling. I think I’ll take some fries with that burger. I hope I earn it. This week is a nail biter.

      I can only see your blog in my reader…I was wondering why I couldn’t link to it from my email. AND, your devoted readers are waiting eagerly for part II. Please indulge us soon.

      Love, your fans

      P.S. you are fast, lady.

Leave a Reply

