Running and Riding

20130216-194851.jpg
Long Run Fridays have officially begun again. Yesterday marked the beginning of some happy and focused trail run training.
It was a glorious day for a run. 41 degrees, sunny and no humidity. Perfect running conditions.

20130216-195330.jpg

20130216-195436.jpg
Last fall, when I’d gone from 40 mile weeks to about 3, I stopped recording my mileage. I then proceeded to tell myself that I was above fray. I didn’t needed to keep track. I’m good. My love for running is enough. And it can be. But, if I want to run an ultra, I have to be honest about what I’m capable of. If I don’t keep track, I could end up telling you I’m ready for a 100 miler next month.
I mean, I love to rest on my ‘accomplishments’, the things I’ve done, the places I’ve been. Been there, read the book. Hehehe. Yeah. I gotta stay in the present and be accountable.
Three hours seemed like a good length to start building endurance on. I certainly had low expectations of my mileage. I took my Garmin, but left it in my hydration pack. I’d check it at the end. I’ll just run for the sheer joy of it. And I did.
All week I looked forward to having Friday off. I eeked out two 5ks during the week. Upon arriving home, I checked the GPS. I ran 11 miles in 3:05! Mind you, I’m running in snow. And, of course, I’m a bit pokey. I’m pretty happy with how far I ran.
I loved MOST of the run. I pooped out the last hour. I should have had more fuel with me. Oh well, I got the water and clothes parts correct. I smiled at the sky. I spread my arms like wings on the downhills. I watched Aggie fly through the trees. It was glorious. I truly love running.

20130216-201211.jpg that’s a doe print next to my Hoka mark

20130216-201524.jpg

20130216-201551.jpg
I had some energy left for Pat’s Peak ski area today. It’s on the other side of the Connecticut River, in NH. Hubby and I were given passes (!) for the season. Despite the holiday, the conditions were pretty good. By about 2 o’clock, I was cooked. Stick a fork in me. No more legs left. Pour me in the car and take me home. I think I will nap a few times tomorrow. And update my running log.
Oh man, my life is good!

20130216-205258.jpg

20130216-205332.jpg
Thanks for running with,
Astrid

7 thoughts on “Running and Riding

  1. Thanks for your positive comment again on my blog – it does seem a little incredible that I just “went out”for 9 miles!! Your pictures are stunning – well done for that long run in the snow – some challenge. Can’t wait to hear the ultra news!!!

  2. I tried snowshoes, still making up my mind. If that is the packed trail you are on in the picture above, I would say you should stick with YakTraks (my favorites) or screws in your shoes. In that depth you just need a bit of traction, avoid the bulk of snowshoes. I felt like I was pigeon toed the entire time today.

Leave a Reply

