Late day sun

20121118-163229.jpg

20121118-163334.jpg

20121118-163352.jpg
I’m the most blessed chickie ever! New camera AND I convinced hubs to do a longish run two days ago. Yay!
I just picked up an iPod, complete with camera. I’ll probably never listen to music on it, but I can post poor photos to this here blog from anywhere. It was news to me that iPods have wifi capabilities. Go figure. So I’m WordPressing from a two inch screen.
These are some shots from my bread n butter trails.
Friday was, of course, Long Run Friday! Wooooohoooo! I was gonna try some new trails, but opted for some company instead, after convincing hubby he NEEDED run with me. Yup.
J and I have done a run here and there together, but our pace and surface preferences are different. I want dirt, he likes asphalt. I slog, he actually looks like he’s moving. And when we run together, it’s mutually beneficial. I push more than if I was alone. J, well, I think he practices listening to me blather. Really, there’s no need to practice on his part. I’ve turned into a talker since I got sober. Who knew? He says I help pace him, but I think he’s being generous. Like I said, pretty blessed.
Our Aggie girl was about to combust waiting for us to get going. I’m in no rush to get out there early this time of year. It wasn’t 30 degrees til 10am. By 11, she was groaning with frustration. It was as horrendously frozen by then. Not a fan of running in sub 0 Celsius. Fancy, huh?
You guys have heard all the gory details of this particular run. It’s a ten miler that starts on a dirt road, continues into some town forest and on a teensy bit of asphalt at the start and finish. It’s familiar territory, but It was made new by highlighting all my favorite trees and rocks to J. I don’t think it was as painful as that, he’s still eating my cooking. Pretty cool. I prefer to run alone, but it was amazing to share my chosen trails. I’ll crack up if I’m lonely next time I hit this route. Hello? Anybody? Hello?
Anyhow, I better pile on a few miles before Thanksgiving. I’d like to do some damage to a certain pumpkin pie with my name on it. We’re also going to find a turkey trot for Thursday, maybe I won’t feel so gross Friday. I’ll keep you posted.

Happy Thanksgiving!
Thanks for reading,
Astrid

6 thoughts on “Late day sun

  1. Hi Astrid! love your post & pics! my doggie girls go nutz waitingwaitingwaiting when they know I am going to take them out (not running, usually walking in the desert or along the canal here)! so i can totally relate:) happy thanksgiving to you too! lisa

    • Lisa, thanks for commenting!
      Just a few short months ago I was asking for blog advice. I’m learning each time i write keeping an on online journal about me. Hopefully we can touch base and compare notes sometime.
      Happy Thanksgiving, A

  2. Astrid, You’re just awesome. Keep on running girl…..and imagine me running with you. In my mind I am. Think of you each time I pass Catamount. xo

Leave a Reply

